tokmajyanBiography of Hovhannes Tokmajyan

H. V. Tokmajyan was born on the 7-th of November, 1956 in Yerevan.

In 1973 he graduated from Yerevan № 118 secondary school.

From 1973 to 1974 he studied at the Kiev Institute of Civil Aviation.

In 1978 he graduated from Yerevan Polytechnical Institute, receiving a degree of engineer-hydrotechnician .

From 1979 to 1986 he carried out scientific and pedagogical work in the Politecnical Institute.

In 1984 he defended his candidate dissertation receiving the scientific degree of a candidate of technical sciences in the Research Institute of Hydraulic structures and Energy of Georgia (Tbilisi).

From 1987 to 1991 he was the Head of Youth scientific and technical creativity municipal center in Yerevan.

In 1986 he was awarded the Lenin Komsomol prize in science and technology.

From 1987 to 1989 he was the Head of Yerevan City Council of young scientists and specialists.

In 1987 he was awarded the All-Union prize for Youth Scientific and Technical creativity.

From 1987 to 1990 he was a member of board of young directors of All-Union Council of the Soviet Union.

In 1989 he founded the “Brotherhood” project, with the help of which he restored and re-launched the “Children’s Railway”.

In 1988 he was awarded the scientific title of docent.

From 1989 to 1991 was a member of the Soviet National Committee of the International Society for Hydraulic Research, and was the Head of the Youth Committee.

In 1991 he defended doctoral dissertation and received the degree of Doctor of Technical Sciences in the Hydraulic-Union Institute (Leningrad, now St. Petersburg), In 1993-1995. he headed the Water Problems and Hydrotechnical Research Institute of Armenia.

In 1994 he received the scientific title of Professor.

In 1994 founded and is heading the Armenian National Association of Hydraulic Research.

In 1994 was elected a member of the Academy of Agricultural Sciences of Armenia.

In 1995 was elected Deputy of the National Assembly of RA by a majoritarian electoral system.

From 1994 to 1999 he headed the “Intellectual Armenia” parliamentary union. From 1996 to 1997, he headed the Water Management system in the Ministry of Agriculture of

From 1997-1999 he was Legal Committee Member of the National Assembly of RA.

From 2000 to 2002 he headed the development activities of water legislation.

From 2002 to 2005 he has been the secretary of the National Water Council.:

From 2006 to 2014 he was the Rector of the Yerevan State University of Architecture and Construction. In 2006 he was elected as a Full member of the Energy Academy of Georgia.

In 2006 he has been awarded the Prime Minister’s Medal, and in 2011, the Prime Minister’s Letter of thanks.

In 2006 he founded the “Engineer” official newspaper and Scientific Bulletin of Yerevan State University of Architecture and Construction of which he has been main editor until 2014, raising the number of annually publications to 8, altogether with scientific conference subjects.

From2007 to 2014 in the University, which was directed by him realized the designs of Stepanakert airport and water supply system.

In 2007 he was appointed on the position of the head of the Armenian National Committee of International Hydrological Programme of UNESCO

In 2008 he established the “Architecture and Construction. Current Issues ” International science Conference, the works which were later organized in China (2011), Poland (2012), Russian Federation (2013), Czech Republic (2014) and Italy (2015).

In 2012-2014 he initiated and coordinated the international institutional accreditation process (France), which reached its logical conclusion in 2015, In National University of Architecture and Construction of Armenia (the only one among the universities received European accreditation for 5 years).

Since 2009 is the Chairman of the Russian Universities’ Graduate Union.

In 2011 he was awarded the “Vachagan the Pious” medal by the decree of NKR President.

In 2011 he was awarded the Russian President Vladimir Putin’s Certificate of Appreciation.

In 2012 he organized an exhibition of the works of hundreds of professors and graduates of the State University of Architecture and Construction of all times in the House of Artists of Armenia, and in 2013, an exhibition of the honorary professor Hrant Tadevosyan. In 2013 by his initiative the Days of Yerevan State University of Architecture and Construction event was organized in Italy (Florence).

In 2013 he was elected a member of the city council.

In 2013 received the Honorary Doctor title of Rostov –on –Don State University of Architecture of RF.

From 2014 to 2015 he was the Acting Rector of the National Polytechnic University of Armenia.

In 2014 he elected a Real member of the International Academy of Engineering.

On December 28, in 2015, he was appointed as Acting rector of Shushi University of Technology by NKR government decision.

On July 28, in 2016, he was elected as Rector of Shushi University of Technology.

In 2006-2015 he was awarded the “Fridtjof Nansen” Gold Medal , the “Romwaldo Del Bianco” Medal of Italy, the “Valery Bryusov” medal and the “Maternal Gratitude” medal. Large scale albums of works by Armenian popular painters Henrik Mamyan, Hrant Tadevosyan and Levon Manaseryan and valuable monographs and textbooks of many professors were published, nearly three dozen research laboratories, specialized classrooms and auditoriums were initiated and launched under his leadership.

He is a member of several boards accompanying the Prime Minister of Armenia. Under his guidance and scientific advice 6 doctoral and 10 PhD theses were defended. He headed № 030 and № 055 HAC professional Councils . He is the author of 215 scientific works, including 5 monographs. He has also published 4 collection of short stories and essays. He is a member of the Journalists’ Union of Armenia.